Living on The Poverty Line

Today marks the beginning of my latest challenge. I’m living off £1 a day for 7 days to raise money for young people living in poverty.  I was actually shocked how little you can buy for £7. I knew it wasn’t going to be easy, but standing in the supermarket not being able to afford the milk I usually buy and having to decide between porridge oats and cheese was really tough.

So far today I’v eaten 4 Tesco’s own brand chocolate biscuits and some porridge (with water as I do not drink cows milk and could not afford almond milk). Somehow I feel this week is going to be a lot harder than first anticipated. I just need to keep telling myself I am doing this for a good cause.

What really sticks out in my mind is how for many people this is their reality. According to the Institute of Fiscal Studies 3 million children are currently living in poverty. When I read this I was absolutely mind blown, how is it is possible that in the 21st century so many young people are living on £1 a day? An secondly, how can they afford this? I’ve only just started my poverty challenge and am already finding it tough – the fact so many children live like this on a day to day basis is crazy.

If you would like to sponsor me and join me in my fight against poverty please donate at http://www.justgiving.com/rebecca-g-kay

Or

Like my facebook page to see how I cope with living on the poverty line: Rebecca – living on the poverty threshold

Leave a Reply

